OFFICERS 2006-2008

STEVE WEIR PRESIDENT Contra Costa County 524 Main Street Martinez, CA 94553 (925) 646-2955 sweir@cr.cccounty.us

REBECCA MARTINEZ VICE PRESIDENT Madera County

GAIL PELLERIN TREASURER Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING SECRETARY Shasta County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County DARLENE BLOÓM Orange County CANDACE GRÚBBS **Butte County** JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County **NEAL KELLEY** Orange County **DEAN LOGAN** Los Angeles County JOHN MČKIBBEN Los Angeles County KATHIE MORAN Colusa County DOLORES PROVENCIO Imperial County ELMA ROSAS Santa Clara County KAY VINSON* City Clerk, Murrieta * non-voting member

ELECTED:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE
Northern Area
Lassen County
BARBARA DUNMORE
Southern Area
Riverside County
CANDY LOPEZ
Bay Area
Contra Costa County
LEE LUNDRIGAN
Central Area
Stanislaus County
JIM MCCAULEY
Mother Lode Area
Placer County

ADVISORY COUNCIL

CONNY MCCORMACK Los Angeles County MARSHA WHARFF Mendocino County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County VICKI PETERSEN Sonoma County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE
Sacramento County
DEBORAH SEILER
Solano County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

July 15, 2008

Assembly Member Tony Mendoza State Capitol PO Box 942849 Sacramento, CA 94249-0056

Dear Assembly Member Mendoza:

On July 8, 2008, the Elections Legislative Committee of the California Association of Clerks and Election Officials reviewed **AB 2584**, (as amended June 10, 2008) clarifying that no affidavit of circulator is required for a voter's request to withdraw his or her signature from a petition.

Statewide interpretation of the Petition Manual compiled and distributed by our Association in conjunction with the California Secretary of State, has always held that a voter may request to withdraw his or her signature from a petition without an affidavit of circulator being attached thereto. Placing this additional burden on voters, who have reconsidered their position on a matter, or consider that the petition was misrepresented at the time of their signing, is onerous, and serves no purpose.

The Committee is in **Support** of this legislation. Should you or your staff have any questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact me at (707) 565-1876.

Very truly yours,

Janice Atkinson, Correspondence Secretary California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

 c: Assembly Member Curren Price, Chair, Committee on Elections, Redistricting and Constitutional Amendments

Senator Ron Calderon, Chair Elections, Reapportionment and Constitutional Amendments Committee

Deborah Seiler, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Barry Brokaw and Donne Brownsey, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.